Overpopulation

February 17, 2011 § 2 Comments

Why do people have kids if they can’t take care of them properly? This is a question I find myself asking a lot lately.

I do not have kids so I do not know how it feels to struggle while raising a child, but thats really one of the main reasons I do not have kids! I consider myself a traditionalist when it comes to things like this.

1. Meet someone and have a relationship.
2. If 1 works out well for you get married
3. If 2 works out well start a family

While I understand that not everyone feels this way and in this day and age kids before or without marriage seems to becoming less of a taboo, I still do not get why you would bring a child into this world if you cannot care for it. I dont mean being able to buy a multipack of diapers from Walmart and bulk sized jars of baby food from the dollar store. I mean really and truely being able to financially support a child. I see so many cases where parents and single moms are living in a one bedroom apartment, on welfare, can’t buy food etc. So my question is, why did you have the baby to begin with? I honestly believe that bringing a child into this world when you can’t care for it, give it EVERYthing it needs without struggling is worse than having an abortion. I understand that religion may disagree, or people with different morals and values may disagree but if you did not take the proper precautions to not get knocked up and you still have the baby because “its the right thing to do” even though you can’t even afford to take care of yourself then it is THE WRONG CHOICE. If you do decide to have the baby, give it up for adoption. I think it is really selfish to bring a kid into the world if youre not financially stable or emotionally responsible. Think of what youre bringing this innocent into. Think of how they are going to grow up. Why would you want to do that to someone?

I normally wouldn’t be saying anything about this but I am finding more and more that people around me have 1-3 kids and are still complaining about money. People living in studio apartments with children. People who can’t afford to pay their rent or bills but they have children. These seem to be the same people who have the time to complain about how they have no money to pay said rent and bills but still find a way to buy things for themselves. Clothes, makeup, shoes. OR they use the money they were supposed to be saving on these items instead. I just cannot stand it. No, you do not need to go to the makeup store. No, you do not need a new pair of shoes. No, no, no. What you should be doing is a favor for the world and just stop having sex until youre ready to accept the responsibility that comes along with it. And Im not talking about the responsibility of being a parent. You’re not better than anyone because you have to raise a kid. We ALL have to pay rent. We ALL have bills. You should not get pity for a choice that YOU made. You should not get sympathy if you are struggling because of something YOU did. Almost everyone I went to high school with has a kid and 80% of them can’t afford to take care of them. Why do they have them then? Its one thing if something happens and youre not doing very well for a while. I get that bad things happen, I get that things get rough for all of us at one point or another. I’m not talking about those people. I know a lot of people as well who have kids and work hard as parents, and are responsible and work to provide a loving and supportive family. But I don’t see enough of this, and I’d like to.

I’m usually not one to judge but this subject has just been driving me batty lately. One thing is for sure; I will not be having kids until I know I can give them everything they deserve. That should be the first thing you ask yourself when you think you want a baby. Period.

§ 2 Responses to Overpopulation

  • Kate says:

    I know what you mean. I don’t think it bothers me as much as it does you, but sometimes I see parents who clearly cannot take care of the children and wonder why the hell they even bothered to have them.

  • And my cat says:

    I see your view on this. Too many non-responsible people out there have babies without being financially stable. Then live off the government with food stamps and welfare…THEN have even more babies so they can get even more assistance. Not to mention not giving their child enough love, going out every night to party while leaving child home with the grandparent(s). Just makes me feel sorry for the child(ren) in these situations.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Overpopulation at Life as GiNi.

meta

